I did make a promise…

As some of you know last Thursday was decision day for the TV show. That was almost a week ago, and I promised to let you know how it went. I am sure some of you, owing to the length of time it has taken me to post, have already decided how it went. I wonder if you are correct?

Thursday started with me a jumbling ball of nerves. Pent up energy was causing my mind to drift and examine the results from a myriad of different angles. Saying more about me than anything else, my mind often pictured a no. So, after waiting until 1pm I dialled in, expecting the worst.

The whole process was a bit bizarre. You are given a time, a phone number and a code to punch in to join a conference call. But, you don’t really join it, you are just an audio voyeur overhearing people decide your fate. At the given hour I punched in my various numbers and joined the listen only party line.

The chatter on the other side was bad. I sat there for ten minutes listening to people say how bad the show was and how money had been wasted. I was not in a good mood, but I stayed and listened. I also shouted, but they couldn’t hear me. After the ten minutes were up they voted to not show the show, with a title I did not recognise. I will admit it took me some time to realise I had been listening in on some other poor suckers rejection. I should have felt bad, but I did not. My future was still up for debate, and right then that was all that mattered.

What followed was, in some ways, worse then what had come before. Rather than a group of angry people ripping a show apart, it was talk of how well we had done with the budget and people at our disposal. I found the whole thing rather awkward as I do not take praise well. That is not to say that I didn’t like it.

They even mentioned episode three, which I already know had been the subject of debate on the editing floor. But whereas the earlier discussions were about how it would never work, this one was highlighting that it could be the best episode of the bunch. Of course with comedy the final decider will be the audience, and I will admit it walks that fine line between awkwardly funny and just plain awkward. Time will tell.

And for those who have not already guessed, Thunderbirds are Go! No, that is not my show, that is confirmation that at some point later this year (or early next year) my show will make its broadcast debut carried over the airwaves of the UK. I don’t know the final date yet, or even the final channel it will be on. But it will be on!

Here’s hoping that at least some of you watch, and I get a season two!

One thought on “I did make a promise…

  1. Tracey Rob says:

    Brilliant news, well done! Can’t wait to see the result of all your hard work, blood, sweat and tears 🙂

Leave a Reply

